top of page


Our Mission

The MIT Mobility Initiative (MMI) is a global platform

to accelerate a safe, clean and inclusive mobility system

through research, education, entrepreneurship and engagement

The MMI is structured around 4 Pillars:



Catalyze cross-disciplinary research that provides insight to strategic challenges for industry and society


Manage and enhance MIT's transportation degree programs and expand the executive education offering


Leverage MIT's innovation ecosystem to spin off mobility tech startups and support existing startups


Foster direct interaction with leaders from business and government on the "front lines" of the mobility revolution


Executive Team


Faculty Director

Associate Director

of Research

Executive Director

John Moavenzadeh.jpeg

Bhuvan Atluri

Governing Board

Provost, MIT

John C Head III Dean of MIT Sloan School of Management

Dean of the MIT School of Engineering

Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning

Dean of the MIT Schwarzman College of Computing

Vice President for Open Learning (2013-2022) and Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Academic Advisory Committee

Saurabh Amin

Robert N. Noyce Career Development Associate Professor

Hamsa Balakrishnan

Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

John Heywood

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

John Leonard

Samuel C. Collins Professor of Mechanical and Ocean Engineering

Amedeo Odoni

T. Wilson Chair Professor Emeritus of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Sandy Pentland

Toshiba Professor of Media Arts & Science

Yossi Sheffi

Director of the MIT Center for Transportation & Logistics

Dimitris Bertsimas

Professor of Management and Operations Research, Associate Dean of Business Analytics

Moshe Ben-Akiva

Edmund K. Turner Professor in Civil Engineering

Ali Jadbabaie

JR East Professor of Engineering

David Mindell

Dibner Professor of the History of Engineering and Manufacturing, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Asu Ozdaglar

Distinguished Professor and Department Head, EECS; Deputy Dean of Academics, Schwarzman College of Computing

Daniel Roos

Japan Steel Industry Professor, Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Nigel Wilson

Professor Emeritus

Eran Ben-Joseph

Professor of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning

Charlie Fine

Chrysler Leaders for Global Operations Professor of Management

Patrick Jaillet

Dugald C. Jackson Professor in EECS, Co-Director of the Operations Research Center

Thomas Magnanti

Institute Professor & Professor of Operations Research

Georgia Perakis

William F. Pounds Professor of Management, EMBA Faculty Director, Operations Research Center Co-Director

Daniela Rus

Andrew (1956) and Erna Viterbi Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Chris Zegras

Professor of Transportation and Urban Planning

Global Advisory Board

mary chan.webp
diane hoskins.jpg

Mary Chan

Managing Partner


Diane Hoskins

Co-Chief Executive Officer


Karl Iagnemma

President & Chief Executive Officer Motional

Khaeld photo.jpg

Khaled Fakhuri

Senior Vice President

Schneider Electric


Joshua Sirefman

Chief Executive Officer

Michigan Central

gill pratt.jpg

Gill Pratt

Chief Executive Officer

Toyota Research Institute


Ann Stanberry

Chief Strategy Officer

Liberty Mutual


Andres Sacristan

Chief Executive Officer





77 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02139-4307

bottom of page