top of page

Dan and Eva Roos Thesis Prize

Dan and Eva Roos Thesis Prize (2021-2023 Call)

The MIT Mobility Initiative is soliciting nominations for the 2023 Dan and Eva Roos Thesis Prize to be awarded to the outstanding MIT PhD dissertation in the field of transportation. Doctoral dissertations meeting the following criteria are eligible for consideration:

  • The dissertation should have been completed and submitted as part of the degree lists from September 2021-June 2023.

  • The dissertation is in the area of transportation and mobility, broadly defined. It can be submitted to any department or PhD-granting program at MIT, and can address any aspect of transportation systems (e.g., research related to any mode of transport; passenger or freight transportation; theoretical or applied problems; technological, economic, planning or policy analysis; etc.)


The award is hosted by MIT’s Mobility Initiative (MMI). The complexity of today’s mobility system calls for multiple levels of coordination and collaboration to overcome and shape the system’s pending challenges over both the short and long terms. Mobility and transportation are in the midst of profound transformation with an unprecedented combination of new technologies (autonomy, electrification, and AI) meeting new and evolving priorities and objectives (decarbonization, public health, and social justice). The MMI has been founded for that purpose: to convene key stakeholders in order to help drive innovation forward while providing strategic guidance to navigate today’s challenges. MMI’s Mission is to accelerate development of a safe, clean, and inclusive mobility system through research, education, entrepreneurship and engagement.


Prize Selection Committee:

  • Prof. Amedeo Odoni 

  • Prof. Alexandre Jacquillat 

  • Prof. Jinhua Zhao (Chair)



  • Overall Winner: Baichuan Mo -Toward a Resilient Public Transportation System: Effective Monitoring and Control under Service Disruptions

  • Honorable Mentions:
    Rounaq Basu - Planning sustainable cities: Coordinating accessibility improvements with housing policies
    Karthik Gopalakrishnan - Modeling and Control of Networked Systems: Applications to Air Transportation

Awardees will be presenting their thesis research at the MIT Mobility Forum on December 8, 2023.

Prizes in the Prior Years


Winner: Dr. Shenhao Wang, Deep Neural Networks for Choice Analysis 


Honorary Mentions:
Dr. Arthur Delarue: Optimizing School Operations 
Dr. Wilko Schwarting: Learning and Control for Interactions in Mixed Human-Robot Environments


Prize Selection Committee:

  • Yossi Sheffi

  • Cindy Barnhart

  • Alexandre Jacquillat

  • Jinhua Zhao (Chair)


Winner: Dr. Gabriel Kreindler 

“Essays on the Economics of Urban Transportation" (Extended Abstract | Full Thesis)​


Prize Selection Committee:

  • Ali Jadbabaie, CEE and IDSS

  • Yossi Sheffi, CTL and CEE 

  • Hamsa Balakrishnan, Co-Chair, AeroAstro

  • Jinhua Zhao, Co-Chair, DUSP

bottom of page